Australian Safeguards and Non-Proliferation Office

Regulator function

  • National authority for the Chemical Weapons Convention (CWC)
  • National authority for (nuclear) safeguards
  • National authority for the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty (CTBT)


  • Chemical Weapons (Prohibition) Act 1994
  • Customs (Prohibited Imports) Regulations 1956
  • Nuclear Non-Proliferation (Safeguards) Act 1987
  • Nuclear Safeguards (Producers of Uranium Ore Concentrates) Charge Act 1993
  • Civil Nuclear Transfers to India Act 2016
  • Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty Act 1998
  • South Pacific Nuclear Free Zone Treaty Act 1986

Regulated community

  • ASNO’s chemical regulations apply to entities that produce, use or trade CWC scheduled and other regulated chemicals. As Australia’s national authority, ASNO provides declarations of Australian chemical activities to the Organisation for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons (OPCW). 
  • ASNO’s nuclear regulations apply to holders, or potential holders (including transport companies) of nuclear material and associated items in Australia. ASNO’s nuclear regulations also apply to communication of information contained in sensitive nuclear technology. 
    As Australia’s national authority, ASNO has reporting responsibilities to the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA). 


Foreign Affairs and Trade

Internal to department / external entity